

Collaborative recommendations to the Alberta Electoral Boundaries Commission have been accepted

October 19, 2017

On July 18, 2017 Town of Drayton Valley Mayor Glenn McLean and Brazeau County Reeve Bart Guyon made a joint presentation to the members of the Alberta Electoral Boundaries Commission to raise concerns regarding recommendations made in the Interim Report on the *Proposed Electoral Division Areas, Boundaries, and Names for Alberta* for the Drayton Valley-Devon riding.

The *Proposed Electoral Division Areas, Boundaries, and Names for Alberta* Final Report to the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta was released in October of 2017 and reflects the submitted recommendations from the Mayor and Reeve.

"The proposed changes did not fully contemplate existing partnerships and economic interests that benefit both municipalities." Stated Mayor Glenn McLean. "I am pleased and delighted to see that the Alberta Electoral Boundaries Commission saw merit in the concerns that Reeve Guyon and I brought forward."

In keeping with the recommendations, the Final Report includes both Brazeau County and the Town of Drayton Valley in the same electoral boundary. This will allow our MLA to represent the common goals and interests of both municipalities.

The Town of Drayton Valley is proud of the work that has been accomplished in collaboration with Brazeau County. Sharing electoral boundaries ensures forward momentum and will assist with future successes of projects and initiatives between both municipalities.

Mayor Glenn McLean Town of Drayton Valley Ph: 780 514 2200

Website: www.draytonvalley.ca

Powered By Community